How do I register?

quadrium | flame : flame fractals & strange attractors : build, mutate, evolve, animate

Post Reply
jbrandtp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:52 pm

How do I register?

Post by jbrandtp » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:57 pm

Hello

I am trying to register Quandrium | flame, via the Quandrium | flame-menu and selecting "register" - but nothing happens!

What am I doing wrong?

all the best

jbrandtp

gandreas
Immortal
Posts: 1464
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:02 pm
Contact:

Post by gandreas » Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 pm

Code: Select all

What am I doing wrong? 
In theory, nothing. Obviously something is going wrong here though.

If you have the Console.app (found in /Application/Utilities) running while you do this, do any messages show up there?


If you try to save a file and get the "sorry this is a demo, please register" and click the "register" button there, does it work any better?


What kind of computer, and what version of the OS are you running?

jbrandtp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:52 pm

Post by jbrandtp » Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:51 am

gandreas wrote:

Code: Select all

If you have the Console.app (found in /Application/Utilities) running while you do this, do any messages show up there?
I get this message:
"2007-02-11 11:49:26.785 quadrium | flame[223] *** +[NSString stringWithCString:]: NULL cString"
gandreas wrote:

Code: Select all

If you try to save a file and get the "sorry this is a demo, please register" and click the "register" button there, does it work any better?
No
gandreas wrote:

Code: Select all

What kind of computer, and what version of the OS are you running?
Powerbook G4 1.67Mhz OSX 10.4.8

All the best

JBrandtP

gandreas
Immortal
Posts: 1464
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:02 pm
Contact:

Post by gandreas » Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:09 am

I've sent you a link to the latest beta, just in case this help.

(This is strange because the only places my code calls stringWithCString is in the part where I enable local sharing, and there should be nothing in the current code base that involves this with regards to registration)

gandreas
Immortal
Posts: 1464
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:02 pm
Contact:

Post by gandreas » Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:56 am

If you hold down the command key while selecting "Register" it should change to "Reinstall" and bring up a dialog asking for your information.

Does this happen? Or do you get the same "stringWithCString: NULL" error?

If you can get that far, you can use the "online store" at http://store.eSellerate.net/s.aspx?s=STR4634386578 and purchase a license there and enter that information in the above mentioned dialog...

In the mean time I'll continue to investigate further - if you can think of anything unusual about your system (in terms of strange network setup, or perhaps some overactive system extension), please let me know.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests